caribou skin coat - pishakanakup

In the old days, before the Innu were settled in government built villages, they used to clothe themselves in caribou skins. Caribou skin coats, mittens, leggings, moccasins, and hoods, provided warm protection from even the most bitter northerly winds.

Two types of skin coats were made – one with the fur left on the outside, the other with the fur removed entirely. This second type of coat was worn by men, and was often painted with beautiful motifs such as “double curves.” Sometimes, the motifs were inspired by dreams. In general, they were a way of showing respect to the animal masters.

Dorothy Burnham has studied the history, design (cut), and decoration of these painted coats in great detail. She believes that their style may have been based on European jackets worn by both French and English traders and other newcomers to Innu territory. She notes “the earliest coats that have survived probably date from about 1700 and the latest from about 1930.”

 Listen to Matinen (Selma) Michelin, an Elder from Sheshatshiu talk about caribou coats

 Listen to the late Tshishennish Pasteen recall the ways his mother and aunt used to make painted coats

 Top of page

manteau, veston de cuir - pishakanakup

Autrefois, avant d'être installés dans des villages construits par le gouvernement, les Innus se vêtaient de peaux de caribou. Les manteaux, moufles, jambières, mocassins et cagoules en peau de caribou les protégeaient du froid même contre les vents du nord les plus vifs.

Les Innus fabriquaient deux types de manteaux de peau – avec la fourrure à l'extérieur, ou sans fourrure. Les vestons de cuir sans fourrure étaient portés par les hommes et étaient souvent peints de beaux motifs tels que des doubles courbes. Les motifs étaient parfois inspirés par des rêves. En général, ils manifestaient le respect envers les maîtres animaux.

Dorothy Burnham a étudié en détail l'histoire, la coupe et la décoration de ces vestons peints. Elle croit que leur style peut être inspiré des vestons européens portés par les négociants français et anglais et d'autres arrivants en territoire innu. Elle note que « les premiers vestons qui sont parvenus jusqu'à nous datent d'environ 1700, et les derniers d'environ 1930 ».

  Écoutez une aînée de Sheshatshiu, Matinen (Selma) Michelin, parler des manteaux de caribou

  Écoutez le défunt Tshishennish Pasteen rappeler comment sa mère et sa tante faisaient des manteaux peints

 Haut de la page