dog harness - atim-utapaniapi

Always quick to adopt new technology that would ease the burden of life on the land, the Mushuaunnuat (Barren Ground Innu) adopted dog teams and komatiks (atim-utapanashku) from the Inuit and Settlers on the coast of Labrador. The atim-utapaniapi (dog harness) was used to tie the dogs to their traces, which were in turn attached to the komatik.

 Listen to Natuashish Elder, Etuat Mestenapeo, recall one of the advantages of using a dog team

In borrowing dog team technology from their coastal neighbours, the Innu even learned the Inuit commands to the dogs.

 Listen to Natuashish Elder, Shuashem Nui, talk about giving commands to the dogs

More information on Innu dog teams

While permitted the Innu to transport heavier loads to and from the interior barrens, they came with a price. The Inuit dogs had big appetites and had to be fed. Seal meat, caribou organs, and fish had to be obtained, and cornmeal had to be transported into the barrens with the dogs. Those responsible for the dogs had to stay up late to feed them and to ensure they were tethered so that they could not get at the caribou meat or harm the children. The Innu also had their own dog breeds, but these fox-like animals were used primarily to hunt small game, and had little if any role in hauling (see Cummins, 2002:120-132; Speck, 1925).

Two Innu elders from Natuashish – Shushem Nui and Etuat Mestenapeo – have provided detailed information about Innu use of dog teams in the late 1940s, 1950s and 1960s.

According to Shuashem Nui, the late Chief Shushepish “Joe” Rich was the first Innu person to have a . Most Innu, however, acquired dog teams only during the Newfoundland government’s experimental settlement programme when Innu were taken to Nutak on the North Coast of Labrador. Shuashem Nui says,

As far I can I remember, it was 1948 when we went to Nutak, and 1949 was the year we had our dogs. There were no dog teams in the past. Innu people went to Nutak to get the dogs….We didn't have dogs when my father and I went there. We came out with 9 dogs. In 1950 when Innu People started to move back to Davis Inlet and Sango Bay, we stayed there at Nutak. There were a lot of komatiks and a lot of dogs. When we left to go to Nutak, we didn't have anything to haul our belongings. [On the way back] every family had a dog team, and no one had to haul their belongings. Ever since then, we didn't have a problem with the traveling.

Shuashem and Etuat made many other points about dog teams:

  • Before Innu acquired Inuit dogs, they had to pull their belongings and supplies on toboggans (utapanashk u) and sleds (ush-tetanakanashk u) . When the snow was really deep and soft, the men would have to put their snowshoes on and make a trail early in the morning for the group to follow. Once they acquired dogs, the Innu did not have to break trail in this way before the next day’s travel;
  • Most Innu kept dog teams from 1948 to 1967, when settlement in Davis Inlet took place and snowmobiles came into use;
  • An Innu dog driver could have up to 10 dogs in his team;
  • Dogs used up a lot of food. Depending on availability, food consisted of cornmeal, rock cod, seal meat/fat obtained from Inuit or harvested by the Innu themselves, and/or internal organs of caribou such as lungs and intestines;
  • A stew of cornmeal and caribou would have to be prepared for the dogs in the evenings;
  • By the time the dogs had been fed and tethered for the night, it could be late in the evening (for example, midnight). Dogs were a lot of work;
  • Dogs were trained so that they would understand what was said to them. For example, when somebody said auu they would stop, sit down right away, and the rope would be put around them. The command kuis meant the dogs were to run (or weet, weet – go fast). The command eiuk, eiuk meant to go straight ahead. These words were adopted and adapted from Inuit and Settler people whom the Innu encountered on the
  • Innu mostly obtained their dogs in trade with the Inuit. One pair of snowshoes would be exchanged for one dog;
  • The oldest dog was usually the lead one. The lead dog was called the utshimau - the “boss.” Only the oldest dog could understand the commands from the driver;
  • ;
  • The lead dog had the longest trace, while the junior, inexperienced dogs had short traces and ran closer to the komatik;
  • Whereas Inuit traces were made out of seal hide, the Innu generally made their traces out of store-bought rope;
  • When there was no trail available, the drivers would tell the dogs where to go. Often times, if there was no trail, the drivers would walk ahead on snowshoes to make a trail for the dogs to follow, so that they would find it easier to haul the komatik load;
  • Under certain conditions in the spring, when the snow was crusty, the dogs would cut their feet. It was a very hard time for the dogs. They used to bleed very badly, and when the cuts dried, their feet were very painful, and the dogs would start limping.

Vocabulary related to dog teams and komatiks (not yet in standard orthography)

ashikupesh – part of a seal used for harnessing dogs

ashissu-utapanashku - “mud sleds,” name used when runners have mud smeared on them to make them slide better.

atim-utapanashku – komatik.

kanatustumuess, kanutistumest – dog driver

kamamitashauet – “the navigator,” one who drives dogs

kanikauapet – lead dog, “one who leads with the rope.” Kanikanutess meaning “the little leader.” [ MacKenzie Shoebox dictionary lists kanikanitesht and kanikanutesht as “scout; leader, one who goes ahead”]

pamaskupatakin – name for some kind of dog rope, trace, harness?

pashakashteikan - a whip to use on dogs when they do not want to pull.

utanikan - rope attachment of komatik and the dogs [ MacKenzie Shoebox dictionary lists atim-utapaniapi as “dog harness”]

utapanashku neshek - metal shoeing for komatik runners

ush-tetanakanashkua sled with runners. Often used to transport canoes at breakup and freeze-up, and to haul logs.

Examples of names given to dogs

Kakustashet – “coward”

Kakutshuet – no meaning provided or translated

Kuekustishu – “fearful, timid one”

Nipishapui - “cup of tea”

Pitshu - "gum, sap"

Tshamaskai – “short-tailed dog”

References

Cummins, Bryan D. 2002. First Nations First Dogs: Canadian Aboriginal Ethnocynology . Calgary: Detselig Enterprises Ltd.

Leacock, Eleanor B. and Nan A. Rothschild. 1994 (eds.). Labrador Winter: the Ethnographic Journals of William Duncan Strong, 1927-1928 . Washington: Smithsonian Institution.

Podolinsky Webber, Alika. Fieldnotes. 1960-62. Canadian Museum of Civilization. Labrary, Archives and Documentation. III-X-44M, box 171 f.2.

Speck, Frank. 1925. “Dogs of the Labrador Indians.” Natural History . 25, pp.58-64.

VanStone, James W. 1985. Material Culture of the Davis Inlet and Barren Ground Naskapi: the William Duncan Strong Collection. Chicago: Field Museum of Natural History. Fieldiana, Anthropology New Series No.7.

 Top of page

attelage - atim-utapaniapi

Toujours prompts à adopter de nouvelles techniques susceptibles de leur faciliter la vie dans les terres, les Mushuaunnuat (Innus de la toundra) ont adopté les traîneaux à chiens (atim‑utapanashku) des Inuits et des Settlers de la côte du Labrador. Le atim-utapaniapi (attelage) servait à maintenir à leur place les chiens qui étaient attachés au traîneau.

  Écoutez un aîné de Natuashish, Etuat Mestenapeo, rappeler un avantage de l'utilisation de chiens de traîneau

En empruntant la technique des chiens de traîneau de leurs voisins de la côte, les Innus ont même appris les ordres des Inuits aux chiens.

  Écoutez un aîné de Natuashish, Shuashem Nui, parler des ordres donnés aux chiens

Pour en savoir plus sur les chiens de traîneau des Innus

Les permettaient aux Innus de transporter de lourdes charges en direction ou à partir des terres dénudées de l'intérieur, mais cela avait un prix. Les chiens des Inuits avaient un grand appétit et il fallait les nourrir. Il fallait se procurer de la viande de phoque, des abats de caribou et du poisson, et il fallait transporter de la semoule de maïs dans les terres avec les chiens. Les personnes responsables des chiens devaient veiller tard pour les nourrir et voir à ce qu'ils soient bien attachés pour qu'ils ne mangent pas la viande de caribou ou qu'ils ne fassent pas de mal aux enfants. Les Innus avaient aussi leurs propres élevages de chiens, mais ces bêtes, qui ressemblaient à des renards, servaient surtout à chasser le petit gibier et ne tiraient pratiquement jamais (voir Cummins, 2002, pp. 120–132, Speck, 1925).

Deux aînés innus de Natuashish, Shushem Nui et Etuat Mestenapeo, nous ont donné des renseignements détaillés sur l'utilisation de chiens de traîneau par les Innus dans les années 1940, 1950 et 1960.

Selon Shuashem Nui, le défunt chef Shushepish « Joe » Rich fut le premier Innu à posséder des . Cependant, ajoute-t-il, la plupart des Innus ont fait l'acquisition de chiens de traîneau seulement à l'époque du programme expérimental d'établissement du gouvernement de Terre‑Neuve, lorsque les Innus furent emmenés à Nutak, sur la côte Nord du Labrador.

Si je me rappelle bien, c'est en 1948 que nous avons déménagé à Nutak, et en 1949 que nous avons eu nos chiens. Auparavant, nous n'avions pas de chiens de traîneau. C'est lorsque les Innus sont allés à Nutak que nous avons eu des chiens… Nous n'avions pas de chiens lorsque mon père et moi sommes allés là-bas. Et nous sommes revenus avec 9 chiens. En 1950, lorsque les Innus ont commencé à revenir à Davis Inlet et à Sango Bay, nous sommes demeurés à Nutak. Il y avait beaucoup de traîneaux et de chiens. Lorsque nous sommes partis à Nutak, nous n'avions rien pour tirer nos effets personnels. Au retour, chaque famille avait des chiens de traîneau et personne n'avait à tirer ses bagages. Depuis ce temps, nous n'avons eu aucun problème à voyager.

Shuashem et Etuat ont fait d'autres commentaires à propos des chiens de traîneau :

•  Avant de faire l'acquisition de chiens des Inuits, les Innus devaient tirer leurs effets personnels et leurs denrées sur des toboggans (utapanashku) et des traîneaux (ush‑tetanakanashku). Quand la neige était vraiment épaisse et molle, les hommes devaient mettre des raquettes et faire une trace tôt le matin pour que le groupe puisse suivre. Avec des chiens, les Innus n'avaient plus besoin de faire ainsi une trace avant chaque étape.
•  La plupart des Innus ont conservé des chiens de traîneau de 1948 à 1967, année où ils se sont installés à Davis Inlet et ont commencé à utiliser des motoneiges.
•  Un propriétaire innu de chiens de traîneau pouvait avoir jusqu'à 10 chiens.
•  Les chiens consommaient beaucoup de nourriture. Selon ce qui était disponible, ils mangeaient de la semoule de maïs, de la rascasse, de la viande ou de la graisse de phoque obtenues des Inuits ou récoltées par les Innus eux-mêmes, ainsi que des abats de caribou tels que les poumons ou les intestins.
•  Le soir, il fallait préparer un ragoût de semoule de maïs et de caribou pour les chiens.
•  Nourrir et attacher les chiens pouvait se prolonger tard le soir (par exemple, jusqu'à minuit). Les chiens représentaient énormément de travail.
•  Les chiens étaient dressés à comprendre les ordres qui leur étaient donnés. Par exemple, si quelqu'un disait auu , les chiens s'assoyaient immédiatement et on leur mettait la laisse autour du cou. Un autre ordre était kuist , pour commencer à courir (ou weet, weet , pour aller vite). Il y avait aussi eiuk, eiuk , pour aller tout droit. Ces mots étaient empruntés et adaptés des Inuits et des Métis que les Innus ont rencontrés sur la .
•  Les Innus obtenaient leurs chiens en grande partie des Inuits. Une paire de raquettes était échangée contre un chien.
•  Le chien de tête était en général le chien le plus âgé. On l'appelait le utshimau (le patron). Seul le chien le plus âgé pouvait comprendre les ordres du conducteur.
•  .
•  Le chien de tête avait le trait le plus long, alors que les jeunes chiens inexpérimentés avaient des traits plus courts et couraient plus près du traîneau.
•  Alors que les traits des Inuits étaient faits à partir de peau de phoque, ceux des Innus étaient généralement faits de corde achetée dans le commerce.
•  Lorsque aucune piste n'était tracée, les conducteurs disaient aux chiens où aller. Souvent, lorsqu'il n'y avait pas de trace, les conducteurs marchaient devant, en raquettes, pour faire une trace, afin qu'il soit plus facile pour les chiens de tirer le traîneau chargé.
•  Dans certaines conditions, au printemps, alors que la neige formait une croûte, les chiens pouvaient se faire des coupures aux pattes. C'était une période très difficile pour les chiens. Ils saignaient beaucoup, et lorsque les plaies séchaient, leurs pattes étaient très douloureuses et les chiens se mettaient à boiter.

Vocabulaire des attelages de chiens et des traîneaux (orthographe non encore normalisée)

ashikupesh – partie du phoque utilisée pour faire les harnais des chiens

ashissu-utapanashku – « patins de boue » : expression employée lorsque les patins du traîneau sont enduits de boue afin de mieux glisser

atim-utapanashku – traîneau

kanatustumuess, kanutistumest – conducteur de traîneau à chiens

kamamitashauet – « le navigateur », celui qui conduit les chiens

kanikauapet – le chien de tête, « celui qui mène avec la corde ». Kanikanutess signifie « le petit chef ». [MacKenzie traduit kanikanitesht et kanikanutesht par « éclaireur, leader, celui qui va en avant ».]

pamaskupatakin – nom d'une sorte de corde, de trait ou de harnais (?) pour chien

pashakashteikan – fouet utilisé lorsque les chiens ne veulent pas tirer

utanikan – corde reliant le traîneau et les chiens [McKenzie traduit atim-utapaniapi par « harnais pour chien »]

utapanashku neshek – ferrure pour les patins d'un traîneau

ush-tetanakanashku – traîneau muni de patins, souvent utilisé pour transporter des canots au moment du dégel et du gel, ainsi que pour tirer des billots

Exemples de noms donnés à des chiens

Kakustashet – « poltron »

Kakutshuet – aucune signification ni traduction fournie

Kuekustishu – « peureux, timide »

Nipishapui – « tasse de thé »

Pitshu – « cruche, andouille »

Tshamaskai – « chien à courte queue »

 

References

CUMMINS, Bryan D. First Nations First Dogs: Canadian Aboriginal Ethnocynology , Calgary, Detselig Enterprises Ltd., 2002.

LEACOCK, Eleanor B., et Nan A. ROTHSCHILD, réd. Labrador Winter: the Ethnographic Journals of William Duncan Strong, 1927-1928 , Washington, Smithsonian Institution, 1994.

PODOLINSKY WEBBER, Alika. Notes prises sur le terrain, 1960–1962. Musée canadien des civilisations, bibliothèque, archives et documentation, III-X-44M, boîte 171 f.2.

SPECK, Frank. « Dogs of the Labrador Indians », dans Natural History , vol. 25, 1925,
pp. 58–64.

VANSTONE, James W. Material Culture of the Davis Inlet and Barren Ground Naskapi: the William Duncan Strong Collection , Chicago, Field Museum of Natural History, Fieldiana, Anthropology New Series No. 7, 1985.

 Haut de la page