snowshoes - asham

The First Nations of North America have contributed five well-known items of travel technology to the world: the canoe, toboggan, kayak, komatik, and snowshoes. Each was well suited for the harshness of the terrain and climate, and designed for swift and efficient travel over the land, water, ice and snow.

Snowshoes are made primarily of birch, however, tamarack may also be used on occasion. The preferred lacing for snowshoes is caribou hide babiche, although sealskin, canvas, and rope have been used when caribou hide is in short supply.

Men are normally responsible for making snowshoe frames while women do the lacing. In the past, some men were also able to lace snowshoes (for example, the late Shushepish Rich). An axe (ushtashku), crooked knife (mukutakan) and awl (tshishtaishaman/pakunaikan) are the main tools used to make the frames. Once carved into the appropriate shapes, the frames are soaked with boiling water prior to being bent. Women use two tools to lace the snowshoes – a netting needle called an amaku, and a lace straightener called a uetapitshaikanashku. During the lacing process, the frame will be secured firmly between the legs or between two poles stuck in the ground.

Alika Podolinsky Webber, who conducted anthropological fieldwork among the Innu in the Davis Inlet area in the early 1960s, noted that it would take one day to make a pair of snowshoe frames, one day to dry the frames, and a third day for a woman to lace the snowshoes (Fieldnotes. 28 July 1960).

 Listen to Natuashish Elder, Etuat Mestenapeo, describe his experiences making snowshoes

Additional information about Labrador Innu snowshoes

Eight types of snowshoes were made and used by Labrador Innu. These include:

  1. Ushetusham – swallow-tail snowshoe
  2. Kautapishusht - beaver-tail snowshoe
  3. Papatshitakusham - snowshoe made from wooden planks
  4. Mashkusham - single-bar, bearpaw snowshoe
  5. Uikuessiusham* - two-bar, bearpaw snowshoe
  6. Mashkusham* - bearpaw showshoe (top section not laced)
  7. Shakusham
  8. Ushuiakusham - porcupine tail snowshoe

In general, Labrador and Quebec Innu "preferred oval-shaped snowshoes with very short tails or no tail at all, styles that allowed them to manoeuvre in hilly, densely wooded and brush-filled terrain" (Time-Life Books, 1995:88). However, even in the barren, tundra area of the George River and Labrador plateau, oval-shaped snowshoes were still the preferred type.

In the late 1800s, while conducting ethnographic fieldwork at Fort Chimo (Kuujjuaq) in Ungava Bay, Lucien M. Turner noted six types of snowshoes in use among the Mushuaunnuat (Barren Ground Innu). These included three types of single-bar bearpaw snowshoes, swallow-tail, beaver-tail, and wooden snowshoes. With respect to laced snowshoes, he observed that the "netting is made of deerskin [caribou], with the hair removed, and allowed to dry into a condition usually known as parchment. This is cut into strips of variable width, depending on the particular use for which it is wanted" (1894[1979]:146).

With respect to the lacing needle, amak u , Turner said:

A needle of bone, horn, or iron...is used for netting the snowshoes. The shape of the implement is flat and rounded at each point, to enable the needle to be used either backward or forward. The eye which carries the line is in the middle. Various sizes of needles are used for the different kinds of netting, of which the meshes differ greatly in size" (ibid.:146).

William Duncan Strong, who conducted ethnographic fieldwork among the Mushuaunnuat in the Davis Inlet area in 1927-28, also recorded observations of Innu snowshoes and their manufacture. See VanStone (1985:15-19) for Strong's description of the manufacturing method. Several types were obtained by Strong and are now housed in the Field Museum of Natural History in Chicago, USA.

Snowshoe making information from Shimun Michel and Manian (Ashini) Michel, Sheshatshiu, interviews October-November 2003

Shimun: First, I have to look for a birch bark or tamarack tree to use for making snowshoes [the frames]. It usually takes me three days to look for the right kind of tree. I start by making the frames. I soak them in hot water and bend them into a round/circular shape. I make both ends meet, then I use a strong string to tie them together at the ends.

Because of the lacing going around your foot, the snowshoe cannot come off. The only time it can come off is when it breaks. You do not step on the middle crossbar that goes across the upper part of the snowshoe. The mouth of a snowshoe is where you put in your foot and it is where the lace-strap is attached.

There are different colours of wool that can be used for decorating a snowshoe. At the top of the frames, holes are made to put the wool through it. Some Innu decorate their snowshoes because they are proud of them. Also, there are different styles of snowshoes. In other Innu communities, some of the caribou hide is darker because the blood on the caribou hide was not well scraped off. There are other names for snowshoes too.

The beaver tail shaped snowshoe is used for working outdoors during the winter, for getting firewood, checking your trap line and going far pulling a toboggan. It is the men's job to make snowshoe frames, and women's job to lace and decorate them.

I learned how to make snowshoe frames from an Elder, Mishen Pasteen. It took me a week to make one. At first, I did not know how to measure the frames, how big I wanted them. Then on the third day, I did all that he taught me, and when I went to see him, he told me to use my fingers to measure. I did that, and finally I got it right. Today, we still do all types of snowshoes. We sell them to anyone who wants to buy them. We also make small snowshoes for decorating; hanging on walls. They make nice house decorations.

There is a lot of work in preparing a snowshoe because of the caribou hide. Also, a caribou hide has to be prepared and cut into laces.

Manian: Caribou hide is the best to use for lacing snowshoes. Moose hide is not resistant. It does not last like caribou hide. Also, sealskin is also good for lacing. The skin is cleaned and scraped really well. The fat on the skin is scraped off with an ulu. It is not slippery after it has been well scraped and it also lasts.

If none of these hides are available, you can always use canvas. You tear it up in strips, but it is only good for making the bear paw shaped snowshoes.

After you have finished the snowshoes, you hang them on a tree near your tent early in the morning. The animal masters would then feel sorry and help you get a caribou.

Types of snowshoes used historically by Labrador Innu

The following names of snowshoes are still being researched. We provide the names provided by Elders (as written by the translators) for each snowshoe even though they do not always agree. When possible, we have tried to write the names in standard Innu spelling using Marguerite MacKenzie's Shoebox dictionary (noted with a single *), and Lynn Drapeau's Dictionnaire montagnaise-français (noted with a double **).

Ushetusham – swallow-tail snowshoe

Shakuasham or shetuasham – Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Interview 20 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Ushetu ashamits – Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Interview 21 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Ushetusam - Alika Podolinsky Webber fieldnotes 12 July1960.

Kautapishusht ** - beaver-tail snowshoe

Kautapashuts - Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Interview 20 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Kautapishuts ashamits - Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Interview 21 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Kautapeshut - Alika Podolinsky Webber fieldnotes. 15 July 1960. Diagram of six types of snowshoes.

Mukutu-ashamat Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun . Sept-Iles: Centre de formation Nutshimiu atusseun, p.52. Shimun & Manian (Ashini) Michel also use this term for beaver-tail snowshoe (interview October-November 2002).

"The beaver-tail shaped snowshoe is used for working outdoors during the winter, for getting firewood, checking your trap line and going far pulling a toboggan." (Shimun & Manian (Ashini) Michel interview, October-November 2002).

Papatshitakusham ** - snowshoe made from wooden planks

Papatshituk-asham - Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Interview 20 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Papatshitaku-ashamat - Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun . Sept-Iles: Centre de formation Nutshimiu atusseun, p.52.

Mishtiku-ashamat – Shushem Nui, Natuashish. Interview 21 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

"It has to be a thin, flat and stiff board. There are no cross bars, no decorations. There is a hole at the forehead and this is left open. Not webbed" (Etuat Mestenapeo interview, 20 March 2003).

"I remember these kinds of snowshoes. I wore them from Kameshtashtan. My father made them for me" (Tamien Benuen, during Etuat Mestenapeo interview, 20 March 2003).

"I collected two peculiar pairs of snowshoes, made of flat spruce boards….They are shaped exactly like netted snowshoes of the ��beaver tail' pattern, and the arrangement of the foot strap is the same as usual. They came from the Little Whale river Indians, who informed me that they were worn on soft snow. In the spring of the year, when the snow is rapidly melted by sun, the netted snowshoes become clogged with slush, rendering the weight very fatiguing. Wooden snowshoes are admirably adapted for that season of the year, and may be made in a few hours, while the netted ones require several days' assiduous labor" (Turner, 1894 [1979]:148).

Mashkusham * - single-bar, bearpaw snowshoe

Makutumits - Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Interview 21 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Makutum - Alika Podolinsky Webber fieldnotes. 15 July 1960. Diagram of six types of snowshoes.

Maahkutum – modified bear-paw snowshoe (Naskapi Lexicon).

*not described by Etuat Mestenapeo

Uikuessiusham * - two-bar, bearpaw snowshoe
(not single-bar as per MacKenzie's definition)

Uiueseusham - Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Interview 20 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Uikuesseu ashamits - Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Interview 21 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Weeueseusem - Alika Podolinsky Webber fieldnotes. 15 July 1960. Diagram of six types of snowshoes.

Uikuetshisseu-ashamat - Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun . Sept-Iles: Centre de formation Nutshimiu atusseun, p.52.

"Women seem to prefer the uiuesueuasham . They can also wear the other kinds. Kids usually wear the bear paw snowshoes. If you need snowshoes right away, you can make these very quickly. Just use any old line" (Etuat Mestenapeo interview, 20 March 2003)."

Mashkusham * - bearpaw snowshoe (top section not laced)

Maskushamits - Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Interview 21 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Mushk asham - Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Interview 20 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Miskusam - Alika Podolinsky Webber fieldnotes. 15 July 1960. Diagram of six types of snowshoes.

Mashku-ashamat - Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun . Sept-Iles: Centre de formation Nutshimiu atusseun, p.52.

"Mashkushamish (little bear paw shoes) are usually made for little kids and in desperate times. If you need snowshoes right away. There is one frame across [has one crossbar], the upper part is called the forehead and that is left open. The latter part is webbed" (Etuat Mestenapeo interview, 20 March 2003).

Shakusham *
(name not found in any dictionary)

Shakushamits – Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Interview 21 March 2003 by Peter Armitage & Tamien Benuen.

Sagusam - Alika Podolinsky Webber fieldnotes. 15 July 1960. Diagram of six types of snowshoes.

"These are the kind of snowshoes my parents used to make for me when I was younger….Anybody can wear them. Men, women, and kids" (Etuat Mestenapeo interview, 20 March 2003).

Ushuiakusham * – porcupine tail snowshoe

"This type of snowshoe was used for travelling far" (Shimun & Manian (Ashini) Michel interview, October-November 2002).

Drapeau and MacKenzie list ushuiak u as "queue de porc-épic" (porcupine tail), and ushuiakusham as "raquette <<queue de porc-épic>>."

*not discussed by Etuat Mestenapeo and Shuashem Nui.


References for snowshoes

Drapeau, Lynn. 1999. Dictionnaire montagnais-français . Quebec: Presses de l'Université du Québec.

Lévesque, Carole. 1976. La culture matérielle des Indiens du Québec: une étude de raquettes, moccasins et toboggans . Ottawa: National Museums of Canada. Canadian Ethnology Service Paper No.33.

MacKenzie, Marguerite. 2003. Shoebox dictionary. Sheshatshiu and Davis Inlet Innu-aimun. Unpublished draft computer database.

Nutshimiu-atusseun. nd. Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun . Sept-Iles: Centre de formation Nutshimiu Atusseun.

Podolinsky Webber, Alika. Fieldnotes. 1960-62. Canadian Museum of Civilization. Labrary, Archives and Documentation. III-X-44M, box 171 f.2.

Time-Life Books. 1995. Hunters of the Northern Forest . Alexandria, Virginia: Time-Life Books.

Turner, Lucien M. 1894 [1979]. Indians and Eskimos in the Quebec-Labrador Peninsula. Ethnology of the Ungava District . Quebec: Presses Coméditex.

VanStone, James W. 1985. Material Culture of the Davis Inlet and Barren Ground Naskapi: the William Duncan Strong Collection. Chicago: Field Museum of Natural History. Publication 1358.

 Top of page

raquettes - asham

Les Premières Nations d'Amérique du Nord ont donné au monde cinq instruments de déplacement bien connus : le canot, le toboggan, le kayak, le traîneau à chiens et les raquettes. Chacun est bien adapté à la rigueur du terrain et du climat, et est conçu pour voyager de manière rapide et efficace sur terre, dans l'eau, sur la glace et dans la neige.

Les raquettes sont faites le plus souvent de bouleau, mais on utilise parfois le mélèze. Pour faire le lacis des raquettes, on préfère de la babiche en peau de caribou, mais on utilise aussi de la peau de phoque, de la toile ou de la corde lorsqu'il y a pénurie de peau de caribou.

Normalement, les hommes se chargent de faire le cadre des raquettes alors que les femmes font le lacis. Autrefois, certains hommes étaient également capables de lacer des raquettes (p. ex. le défunt Shushepish Rich). La hache (ushtashku), le couteau croche (mukutakan) et le poinçon (tshishtaishaman/pakunaikan) sont les principaux outils employés pour la fabrication des cadres. Une fois qu'ils ont la forme voulue, les cadres sont trempés dans l'eau bouillante avant d'être pliés. Les femmes se servent de deux outils pour lacer les raquettes : une aiguille à fileter appelée amaku, et un redresseur de babiche appelé uetapitshaikanashku . Pendant le laçage, le cadre est tenu fermement entre les jambes ou entre deux poteaux plantés dans le sol.

Alika Podolinsky Webber, qui a mené des études anthropologiques chez les Innus dans la région de Davis Inlet au début des années 1960, a noté qu'il fallait une journée pour fabriquer deux cadres de raquette, une journée pour les faire sécher et une troisième journée pour le laçage par une femme (Notes d'Alika Podolinsky Webber, 28 juillet 1960).

 Écoutez un aîné de Natuashish, Etuat Mestenapeo, décrire son expérience de la fabrication de raquettes

Données supplémentaires sur les raquettes des Innus du Labrador

Les Innus du Labrador fabriquaient et utilisaient huit types de raquettes :

  1. Ushetusham - raquette à queue d'hirondelle
  2. Kautapishusht - raquette à queue de castor
  3. Papatshitakusham - raquette faite de planches de bois
  4. Mashkusham - raquette patte d'ours à une traverse
  5. Uikuessiusham - raquette patte d'ours à deux traverses
  6. Mashkusham - raquette patte d'ours (partie supérieure non lacée)
  7. Shakusham
  8. Ushuiakusham - raquette queue de porc-épic

En général, les Innus du Labrador et du Québec « préféraient des raquettes de forme ovale avec une queue très courte ou inexistante, qui leur permettaient de manœuvrer dans des terrains vallonneux, densément boisés et buissonneux. » (Time-Life Books, 1995, p. 88). Et même dans la toundra de la rivière George et du plateau du Labrador, les raquettes de forme ovale étaient les préférées.

À la fin du XIX e  siècle, alors qu'il faisait des études ethnographiques à Fort Chimo (Kuujjuaq), dans la baie de l'Ungava, Lucien M. Turner a noté six types de raquettes utilisés chez les Mushuaunnuat (Innus de la toundra) : trois sortes de raquettes patte d'ours, les raquettes à queue d'hirondelle, les raquettes à queue de castor et les raquettes en planches de bois. Pour ce qui est des raquettes lacées, il a observé que le « lacis est fait de peau de caribou dont la fourrure a été enlevée et que l'on a fait sécher jusqu'à un état dit de parchemin. On la coupe en bandes de diverses largeurs, selon l'usage auquel elles sont destinées. » (1894 [1979], p. 146).

À propos de l'aiguille à fileter, amaku , Turner rapportait  :

On emploie une aiguille faite d'os, de corne ou de fer... pour lacer les raquettes. L'aiguille est plate et arrondie aux deux bouts, afin qu'on puisse s'en servir dans les deux sens. Le chas, dans lequel on passe le fil, est au milieu. On emploie des aiguilles de tailles diverses selon le genre de lacis, dont les mailles sont de dimensions très différentes (ibid., p. 146).

William Duncan Strong, qui a mené des travaux ethnographiques chez les Mushuaunnuat dans la région de Davis Inlet en 1927–1928, a également noté ses observations de raquettes innues et de leur fabrication. Voir l'ouvrage de VanStone (1985, pp. 15–19) pour lire la description par W. D. Strong de la méthode de fabrication. W. D. Strong a obtenu des raquettes de plusieurs types, qui sont maintenant conservées au Field Museum of Natural History , à Chicago, aux États-Unis.

Renseignements sur la fabrication des raquettes, obtenus de Shimun Michel et de Manian « Ashini » Michel, de Sheshatshiu, au cours d’entrevues menées en octobre et novembre 2002

Shimun : Je dois d'abord chercher un bouleau ou un mélèze à partir duquel je vais faire des raquettes [les cadres]. Il me faut en général trois jours pour trouver le bon arbre. Je commence par fabriquer les cadres. Je les trempe dans l'eau chaude et je les plie pour leur donner une forme circulaire. J'amène les deux extrémités l'une contre l'autre, puis je les attache ensemble avec une corde solide.

À cause du harnais qui entoure le pied, la raquette ne peut pas se détacher du pied, à moins qu'elle ne se brise. On ne met pas le pied sur la traverse avant de la raquette. La porte d'une raquette est l'endroit où l'on met le pied et auquel le harnais est attaché.

On peut utiliser différentes couleurs de laine pour décorer une raquette. À la tête des cadres, on fait des perforations pour y passer la laine. Certains Innus décorent leurs raquettes parce qu'ils en sont fiers. D'autre part, il y a différents styles de raquettes. Dans d'autres communautés innues, la peau de caribou est plus foncée parce que le sang qui était dessus n'a pas été bien gratté. Il y a aussi des raquettes qui portent d'autres noms.

Les raquettes à queue de castor sont utilisées pour travailler dehors en hiver, pour aller chercher du bois de chauffage, vérifier les pièges et faire de longues distances en tirant un toboggan. Il revient aux hommes de fabriquer les cadres de raquette, et aux femmes de faire le laçage et la décoration.

C'est un aîné, Mishen Pasteen, qui m'a montré comment faire des raquettes. Il m'a fallu une semaine pour en fabriquer une. Au début, je ne savais pas comment mesurer les cadres, de quelle grandeur je les voulais. Ensuite, le troisième jour, j'ai fait tout ce qu'il m'avait enseigné, et quand je suis allé le voir, il m'a dit de mesurer avec mes doigts. C'est ce que j'ai fait, et finalement j'ai réussi. Aujourd'hui, nous fabriquons toujours des raquettes de tous les types. Nous les vendons à tous ceux qui veulent en acheter. Nous faisons aussi des raquettes miniatures comme décoration, pour suspendre au mur. Cela fait de jolies décorations pour la maison.

La fabrication de raquettes demande beaucoup de travail, à cause de la peau de caribou. Il faut la préparer et la découper en lanières très fines.

Manian : La peau de caribou est la meilleure pour lacer les raquettes. La peau d'orignal n'est pas résistante. Elle ne dure pas aussi longtemps que celle de caribou. La peau de phoque est bonne elle aussi pour le lacis. La peau est nettoyée et vraiment bien grattée. On enlève le gras de la peau à l'aide d'un ulu. Une fois qu'elle a bien été grattée, la peau n'est plus glissante et est durable.

Si ces types de peau ne sont pas disponibles, on peut toujours utiliser de la toile que l'on déchire en bandes. Mais cela ne fonctionne que pour fabriquer des raquettes patte d'ours.

Lorsque les raquettes sont terminées, vous les suspendez à un arbre près de votre tente tôt le matin. Les maîtres animaux ressentent alors de la peine et vous aident à attraper un caribou.

Types de raquettes utilisés par les Innus du Labrador au cours de l'histoire

Les noms suivants donnés à des raquettes font toujours l'objet de recherches. Ce sont les noms fournis par des anciens (et tels qu'écrits par les traducteurs) pour chaque type de raquettes, même s'il y a parfois des divergences. Nous avons autant que possible essayé d'écrire ces noms selon l'orthographe innu standard, en utilisant le Shoebox Dictionary de Marguerite MacKenzie, et le Dictionnaire montagnais–français de Lynn Drapeau.

Ushetusham – raquette à queue d'hirondelle

Shakuasham ou shetuasham – Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 20 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Ushetu ashamits – Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 21 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Ushetusam – Notes d'Alika Podolinsky Webber, 12 juillet 1960.

Kautapishusht ** - raquette à queue de castor

Kautapashuts – Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 20 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Kautapishuts ashamits – Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 21 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Kautapeshut – Notes d'Alika Podolinsky Webber, 15 juillet 1960. Schéma de six types de raquettes.

Mukutu-ashamat Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun , Sept-Îles, Centre de formation Nutshimiu atusseun, p. 52. Shimun et Manian « Ashini » Michel utilisent également ce terme pour désigner les raquettes à queue de castor (entrevue menée en octobre–novembre 2002).

« Les raquettes à queue de castor sont utilisées pour travailler dehors en hiver, pour aller chercher du bois de chauffage, vérifier les pièges et faire de longues distances en tirant un toboggan. » (Entrevue avec Shimun et Manian « Ashini » Michel, octobre–novembre 2002).

Papatshitakusham ** - raquette faite de planches de bois

Papatshituk-asham – Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 20 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Papatshitaku-ashamat Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun , Sept-Îles, Centre de formation Nutshimiu atusseun, p. 52.

Mishtiku-ashamat – Shushem Nui, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 21 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

« Les planches doivent être minces, plates et rigides. Il n'y a pas de traverse, ni de décoration. Il y a une ouverture à l'avant et celle-ci n'a pas de lacis. » (Entrevue avec Etuat Mestenapeo, le 20 mars 2003)

« Je me rappelle ce type de raquettes. J'en ai porté à partir de Kameshtashtan. Mon père les avait fabriquées pour moi. » (Tamien Benuen, pendant l'entrevue avec Etuat Mestenapeo, le 20 mars 2003).

« J'ai recueilli deux paires particulières de raquettes, faites de planches d'épinette… Elles ont exactement la forme de raquettes lacées à queue de castor, et le harnais est placé comme d'habitude. Elles venaient des Indiens de la Petite rivière de la Baleine, qui m'ont dit qu'on les mettait sur la neige molle. Au printemps, alors que la neige fond rapidement sous l'action du soleil, les raquettes lacées deviennent pleines de gadoue, ce qui les rend lourdes et très fatigantes. Les raquettes de bois sont admirablement adaptées à cette époque de l'année. De plus, on peut les fabriquer en quelques heures, alors qu'il faut plusieurs jours de travail assidu pour faire des raquettes lacées. » (Turner, 1894 [1979], p. 148).

Mashkusham * - raquette patte d’ours à une traverse

Makutumits – Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 21 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Makutum – Notes d'Alika Podolinsky Webber, 15 juillet 1960. Schéma de six types de raquettes.

Maahkutum – Raquette patte d'ours modifiée (Naskapi Lexicon).

*non décrite par Etuat Mestenapeo

Uikuessiusham * - raquette patte d’ours à deux traverses
(et non à une traverse comme dans la définition de MacKenzie)

Uiueseusham – Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 20 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Uikuesseu ashamits – Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 21 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Weeueseusem – Notes d'Alika Podolinsky Webber, 15 juillet 1960. Schéma de six types de raquettes.

Uikuetshisseu-ashamat Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun , Sept-Îles, Centre de formation Nutshimiu atusseun, p. 52.

« Les femmes semblent préférer les uiuesueuasham . Elles peuvent aussi porter les autres sortes de raquettes. Les enfants portent généralement des raquettes patte d'ours. Si vous avez besoin de raquettes tout de suite, vous pouvez fabriquer celles-ci très rapidement. Il suffit d'utiliser n'importe quelle vieille corde . » (Entrevue avec Etuat Mestenapeo, le 20 mars 2003)

Mashkusham * - raquette patte d’ours (partie supérieure non lacée)

Maskushamits – Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 21 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Mushk asham - Etuat Mestenapeo, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 20 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Miskusam – Notes d'Alika Podolinsky Webber, 15 juillet 1960. Schéma de six types de raquettes.

Mashku-ashamat Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun , Sept-Îles, Centre de formation Nutshimiu atusseun, p. 52.

« Les mashkushamish (petites raquettes pattes d'ours) sont généralement fabriquées pour de jeunes enfants ou lorsqu'on a besoin de raquettes en vitesse. Il y a une traverse, et la partie avant est ouverte. La partie arrière est lacée. » (Entrevue avec Etuat Mestenapeo, le 20 mars 2003).

Shakusham *

Shakushamits – Shuashem Nui, Natuashish. Entrevue menée le 21 mars 2003 par Peter Armitage et Tamien Benuen.

Sagusam – Notes d'Alika Podolinsky Webber, 15 juillet 1960. Schéma de six types de raquettes.

« C'est ce genre de raquettes que mes parents fabriquaient pour moi quand j'étais plus jeune… N'importe qui peut les porter, hommes, femmes et enfants. » (Entrevue avec Etuat Mestenapeo, le 20 mars 2003).

Ushuiakusham * – raquette queue de porc-épic

« Ce genre de raquettes servait pour de longs voyages. » (Entrevue avec Shimun et Manian « Ashini » Michel, octobre–novembre 2002).

Drapeau et MacKenzie traduisent ushuiak u par « queue de porc-épic » et ushuiakusham par « raquette queue de porc-épic ».

*non présentée par Etuat Mestenapeo et Shuashem Nui.


Références au sujet des raquettes

Drapeau, Lynn. Dictionnaire montagnais-français , Québec, Presses de l'Université du Québec, 1999.

Lévesque, Carole. La culture matérielle des Indiens du Québec: une étude de raquettes, mocassins et toboggans , Ottawa, Musées nationaux du Canada, Service canadien d'ethnologie, document no 33, 1976.

MacKenzie, Marguerite. Shoebox Dictionary , Innu-aimun de Sheshatshiu et de Davis Inlet, ébauche de base de données informatique non publiée, 2003.

Nutshimiu-atusseun. Akuanutin Nutshimiu-aimun , Sept-Îles, Centre de formation Nutshimiu Atusseun, sans date.

Podolinsky Webber, Alika. Notes prises sur le terrain, 1960–1962, Musée canadien des civilisations, bibliothèque, archives et documentation, III-X-44M, boîte 171 f.2.

Time-Life. Hunters of the Northern Forest , Alexandria, Virginie, Time-Life Books, 1995.

Turner, Lucien M. Indians and Eskimos in the Quebec-Labrador Peninsula. Ethnology of the Ungava District , Québec, Presses Coméditex, 1894 [1979].

VanStone, James W. Material Culture of the Davis Inlet and Barren Ground Naskapi: the William Duncan Strong Collection , Chicago, Field Museum of Natural History, publication no  1358, 1985.

 Haut de la page