Fishing at Utshashumeku-shipiss

Episode 3

The group stopped at the junction of Tshenuamiu-shipu and Utshashumeku-shipiss for three days. Once the camp was set up, the men took off into the woods to find a couple of tall, straight minaiku ",1); ?> (white spruce). Within a couple of hours, using only their axes and mukutakan (crooked knife), they had carved two uashuakanashku (leisters) that they would use to spear salmon that lingered in the pools along the river.

The evening was calm and clear, and with birch bark torches blazing, the men paddled out into the salmon pools to try their luck at fishing. Before much time had passed, they had several big salmon flapping about in the bottom of their canoes.

The next day, the women smoked and dried the salmon so that it could be eaten on the journey further inland, and so that the precious could be saved for times of greater need.

Throughout their stay at the camp, the children split firewood, and checked the rabbit snares. Pashin took Tshimitshikan (the dog) hunting, and together, they killed more than a dozen spruce grouse in an afternoon.

Next   Previous  Top of page

La pêche, à Utshashumeku-shipiss

Segment 3

Le groupe s'arrêta pendant trois jours au confluent de la Tshenuamiu-shipu et de la Utshashumeku-shipiss. Une fois le camp installé, les hommes allèrent dans le bois à la recherche de quelques u ",1); ?> (épinette blanche) grandes et droites. En quelques heures, seulement à l'aide de leurs haches et mukutakan (couteau croche), ils avaient fabriqué deux  uashuakanashku (harpons à mâchoires) pour attraper des saumons qui paressaient dans les mares le long de la rivière.

La soirée était calme et claire et, à la lumière de torches en écorce de bouleau, les hommes pagayèrent dans les mares pour tenter d'attraper des saumons. En peu de temps, plusieurs gros saumons frétillaient au fond de leurs canots.

Le lendemain, les femmes firent fumer et sécher les saumons, pour qu'ils puissent être mangés plus tard au cours du voyage à l'intérieur des terres, permettant ainsi d'économiser la précieuse pour des temps plus difficiles.

Pendant tout leur séjour au camp, les enfants fendaient du bois et relevaient les pièges à lièvre. Pashin amena Tshimitshikan (le chien) à la chasse et, à eux deux, ils tuèrent plus de douze perdrix en une après-midi.

Suivant   Précédent  Haut de la page