Ashuapun-shipu Junction

Episode 2

After the fall hunt, the group had moved camp to the west side of Mushuau-nipi where there were more trees for firewood, and better shelter from the biting, blasting winter winds. By March, the time had arrived to make the move towards the coast. Frozen fish, dried caribou meat, clothing, guns, axes, cooking pots, and other belongings were loaded onto the shumin-utapanashku (toboggan), and tied with a pishakaniapi",1); ?> (skin rope). The caribou skins and canvas were stripped off the tepees and tied to the toboggans, leaving the skeletal frames behind to stare at the Innu as they trundled away across the snow.

The route towards the rising sun was a familiar one. First Mushuau-nipi, then Meiapeu katshitaimatshet*, then Ashuapun-natuashu, followed by a steep portage down into the valley where flowed to the sea. Shimiu pulled his own toboggan behind him, as he marched along behind his father. His asham (snowshoes) filled the tracks left by his father’s snowshoes almost perfectly, a sure sign that he was fast on his way to manhood. "I bet I know this route by heart now," he whispered to himself. "I’ll be leading the group one of these years."

Often, in the early evenings, his mother, Shanimen, and sister, Shushepin , hunted uapineu (willow ptarmigan) and kaku (porcupine) with atshapi (bow) and akashku (arrow) . The group had several guns with them but why waste valuable ammunition when the ptarmigan were easy to kill with bow and arrow?

In April, they decided to camp at the junction of Ashuapun-shipu and Kameshtashtan-shipu. The men fished at the rapids nearby, while the women repaired the webbing on some of the asham (snowshoes) that were badly worn from all the traveling they had done. Pitshu and her pup, Nipishapui, had feasted on the lacing in one pair after they had been left accidentally on the ground over night. These had to be laced all over again.

Early one afternoon, Shimiu was in the woods cutting standing dead sheshekatiku (spruce trees) for firewood, when he heard shrieks from down on the river. "Come quickly! Mother has fallen through the ice. Tshinipik maku Innuat petutek ! (Hurry, hurry, come) Before it’s too late!"

By the time Shimiu got to the river, Atika was already there. "Stay calm, Shanimen. Hold on a little longer. I will get you." Much to Shimiu’s amazement, grandfather took off his caribou hide coat and spread it over the thin ice beside where mother had fallen through. Walking carefully over the coat, he reached out to mother and grabbed her hand. Before she knew it, she was up, out of the hole, and rushed off to the warm tepee, to dry off and get warm.

Next   Previous  Top of page

La jonction Ashuapun-shipu

Segment 2

Après la chasse de l'automne, le groupe avait déménagé le camp du côté ouest de Mushuau-nipi, où il y avait davantage d'arbres pour faire du bois de chauffage et où l'on était plus à l'abri des vents violents et mordants de l'hiver. En mars, c'était le temps d'aller vers la côte. On chargeait le poisson congelé, la viande de caribou séchée, les vêtements, les fusils, les haches, les marmites et les autres effets personnels sur les shumin-utapanashku (toboggans) et on les attachait avec une pishakaniapi",1); ?> (corde de peau). On enlevait des tipis les peaux de caribou et les toiles et on les attachait sur les toboggans, laissant sur place les structures de bois qui semblaient regarder les Innus alors que ceci s'éloignaient avec difficulté dans la neige.

Ils connaissaient bien le chemin vers le soleil levant. D'abord Mushuau-nipi , ensuite Meiapeu katshitaimatshet *, puis Ashuapun-natuashu , suivi d'un portage en pente raide pour descendre dans la vallée où le Ashuapun-shipu*",2); ?> coulait vers la mer. Shimiu tirait son propre toboggan, en marchant derrière son père. Ses asham (raquettes) épousaient presque parfaitement les traces de celles de son père, signe certain qu'il devenait rapidement un homme. « Je parie que je connais le chemin par cœur maintenant », murmurait-il en lui-même. « Un jour, c'est moi qui vais mener le groupe. »

Souvent, au début de la soirée, sa mère Shanimen et sa sœur Shushepin chassaient la uapineu (perdrix blanche) et le kaku (porc-épic) avec un atshapi (arc) et des akashku (flèches). Le groupe possédait plusieurs fusils, mais pourquoi gaspiller de précieuses munitions alors que les perdrix blanches étaient faciles à chasser à l'arc?

En avril, ils décidèrent de camper au confluent de l'Ashuapun-shipu et de la Kameshtashtan-shipu. Les hommes pêchaient non loin dans les rapides pendant que les femmes réparaient le lacis de quelques asham (raquettes) endommagé par les longs voyages. Pitshu et son petit, Nipishapui, s'étaient amusés avec le lacis d'une paire de raquettes laissées sur le sol pendant la nuit. Il fallait refaire tout le laçage .

Au début d'un après-midi, Shimiu était dans le bois en train de couper des sheshekatikutaku (épinettes noires sèches) pour en faire du bois de chauffage, lorsqu'il entendit des hurlements venant de la rivière. « Viens vite! Maman est tombée à travers la glace!. Tshinipik maku Innuat petutek ! (Vite, vite, viens!) Avant qu'il soit trop tard! »

Le temps que Shimiu arrive à la rivière, Atika était déjà sur place. « Reste calme, Shanimen! Tiens bon, je vais te sortir de là! » Au grand étonnement de Shimiu, son grand-père enleva son manteau en peau de caribou et l'étendit sur la glace mince à côté de l'endroit où Shanimen avait traversé la glace. Marchant avec précaution sur le manteau, il arriva jusqu'à elle et lui prit la main. Le temps de le dire, elle était sortie du trou et allait rapidement vers le tipi pour se sécher et se réchauffer.

Suivant   Précédent  Haut de la page